Right Outer Join

16 September 2013

Listen on port 80

Filed under: Linux — Tags: , , , , , , — mdahlman @ 11:44

Problem

I have an application server running on port 8080. I want it to listen on port 80. In my case it was Tomcat, but this applies to any application server.

I know this problem is somewhat common problem. I get lots of Google hits on it. But I have found that the answers are surprisingly non-great. They often assume a set of knowledge that doesn’t match with my personal knowledge. They [probably] tell me everything I need to know, but they tell me a lot more as well. This is not better; it’s hard to find what’s really important. This iptables answer on serverfault.com was really quite good. But it offers a little too much detail without offering firm enough guidance about what the best and simplest solution is. I want just one perfect answer if I can find it.

Answer

sudo iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp --dport 80 -j REDIRECT --to-port 8080

It’s that easy. Now your app server can continue to run on port 8080. If port 8080 is open to the outside world then you’re free to connect directly to it… but you can also connect on the traditional port 80.

But… you’ll lose the change if your machine reboots. So there’s one more step. An Amazon Linux I used the following. It should be fine on CentOS and RHEL etc.

sudo service iptables save

On Ubuntu I found it easiest to persist the change like this:

sudo apt-get install iptables-persistent

Alternative Answers

There are, of course, an infinite number of alternatives. I’m more interested in having one easy-to-understand solution than having lots of alternatives. But sometime it’s useful to consider the alternatives explicitly… even if it’s only to mock and ridicule them afterwards.

Run your app server on port 80. I declare this to be a bad solution. But hey, maybe you’ve got a valid use case for this. We tracked down how to do it in the past. I found it to be difficult (grabbing those ports below 1024 is intended to be tough), and I found it to have bad side effects (some things broke on upgrades). The side effects were surely our own fault… but the ‘iptables’ solution above is much less prone to side effects. And running your application server as root in order to access port 80 opens security issues as well.

Run a web server on port 80 in front of the application server and route requests to the application server as appropriate. This is a fine solution. In fact, it’s vastly better in a bunch of ways. I have used it myself several times. It’s just overkill for many needs. Administering httpd isn’t so difficult… but it’s harder than not administering httpd.

Edit the file /etc/sysconfig/iptables manually. Yuck. Sure… you could… but why? The command ‘iptables’ exists to make your life easier. Let it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Go on... leave a reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

